Grace

Today marks one year since my mother died. I miss her, but think I also appreciate her more with each passing day. My wife Anne mentioned last week that my mother had lived her life with incredible grace. Never short on generosity and caring for strangers or people she loved. Always with humility and trying to give credit to others. She was a teacher to many, including teaching braille to blind students and later teaching illiterate adults how to read. Her lessons were many. She kept her subtle sense of humor by her side and her mental faculties until close to the end. I aspire to live the lessons she shared with me. I hope to be graceful to those around me in the days to come.


Just after she died a year ago, I left the nursing home and went over to nearby Como Zoo and had a lupine experience. I wrote most of a blog post during the wee hours of the night a few hours later to capture some of my feelings.  (https://ishouldgetarealhobby.wordpress.com/2016/03/08/waves/)

To commemorate the anniversary of her loss this evening, I again stopped by the timber wolf pens at Como Zoo after work. I was happy to see both wolves, Denali and Shy-Anne, in their pen. The skies had just opened up with a thunderstorm but the two wolves seemed to appreciate my company. As I stood in the rain, Denali came up to the fence and looked at me with doleful eyes. He soon laid down, no more than ten feet away from me. His sister Shy-Anne was pacing and seemed upset by the storm. She eventually paced out of eyesight into the dark. Although getting drenched by the downpour, I found some grace in the calm demeanor and company of Denali. I hope he too felt some comfort from my voice as I spoke to him through the storm.

About bwcaguy

I'm an avid runner who probably runs too many marathons. My wife of over two decades is quite tolerant of my obsessions and has put up with me thus far. My grown daughters gave up trying to understand me long ago.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

